Synthetic Hair Wigs


Wigs of synthetic (e.g., acrylic, modacrylic, nylon, or polyester) hair are popular for many reasons. They are relatively inexpensive (costing one-fifth to one-twentieth as much as a human hair wig). During the past decade, significant improvements in materials have made synthetic hair feel and look more like natural hair. In addition, synthetic wigs are noticeably lighter in weight than their human hair counterparts. They hold a style very well - so well, in fact, that they are sometimes difficult to restyle. On the other hand, synthetic fibers do not move as naturally as human hairs, and they tend to frizz from friction along collar lines. Synthetic hair is also sensitive to heat and can easily be damaged (e.g., from a candle, a cigarette, or an open oven,).


Synthetic wigs are also known as drag queen wigs as they don’t require styling on a regular basis. For many women, skipping this step is the main reason they want to wear these wigs. Since synthetic wigs are less expensive, you can easily choose several different styles and then rotate them. This works best when you choose wigs of similar color and length.


There are synthetic wigs that are made of high-quality fibers that look exactly like human hair. Technology is getting better, which means there are more natural-looking wigs to suit different needs.


Human hair wigs can fade with time, but synthetic hair wigs will retain their color permanently. Of course, that also means they can’t be recolored but you can always get different wigs in different colors.


The Pros:

1. Large Color Selection. The sky is the limit where colors are concerned. You can choose from an array of natural colors, as well as several fantasy colors.

2. Easy Care. Synthetic wigs are easy to take care of. Because synthetic wigs have something called “style retention,” they never have to be styled. You simply wash, dry and then shake them out, and the wig will return to its initial style.

3. Natural Looking. If purchasing a high quality synthetic wig, it is very difficult to tell the difference between a synthetic wig and one made from real human hair.

4. Versatile. You can try out various colors and styles without the need to see a hair stylist by purchasing multiple synthetic wigs.

5. Low Maintenance. They require very little maintenance. This is important to consider if you are experiencing health issues and not feeling well.

6. Cost. Synthetic wigs are relatively inexpensive.

7. Style Memory. Synthetic wigs hold their style regardless of the weather.


The Cons:

1. Longevity. Synthetic wigs do not last as long as human hair wigs. They typically last about 4-6 months with daily wear.

2. Some economy or budget synthetic wigs (typically those under $100) may have an unnatural shine.

3. Cannot Change Color. Recoloring is not recommended for synthetic wigs and traditional hair color will not adhere to the fibers.

4. Less Versatility. Synthetic wigs cannot be straightened or curled with hot styling tools unless they are specifically designed "heat friendly" synthetic wigs.

2018-04-11T02:41:22.000Z
$11.99
End Date: Monday Jul-9-2018 19:41:22 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $11.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2016-08-01T18:18:07.000Z
$11.79
End Date: Friday Jun-22-2018 11:18:07 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $11.79
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-06-06T02:47:45.000Z
$14.24
End Date: Saturday Jun-30-2018 19:47:45 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $14.24
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
2017-09-20T11:33:34.000Z
$16.99
End Date: Tuesday Jul-17-2018 4:33:34 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $16.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list